My husband and I have never had a budget or handled our finances in an intentional manner. Like many people, we just buy what we want when we want. We do all this without much thought. After-all it doesn't take too much thought or effort to swipe a credit card.
When I said "we" in the previous paragraph, I kind of meant just me. I am horrible at spending money. When I'm bored...I spend money. When I'm happy...I spend money. Sad? Definitely going to be spending some dough on some clothes I'll never wear. I haven't totally put us in debt or anything with these types of spending habits, but I know it is getting kind of ridiculous.
This past week I decided to keep a record of how much I was spending and where I was spending. So far I have spent 38 dollars in five days. The spending all occurred at restaurants or coffee shops. I surprisingly haven't made any trips to Target this week, and I think that helped keep my spending as low as it was. Not that 38 bucks is low, but you probably don't want to know how much I usually spend in a week (and neither do I).
I know this is going to be a continuous struggle for me. To let go and realize that money isn't as important as I have made it out to be.
Hebrews 13:5
Keep your life free from the love of money, and be content with what you have.